Fleming Continues Streak, Leads Wire to Wire at WCS

Fleming Continues Streak, Leads Wire to Wire at WCS

Alex Fleming came into Friday night’s event at Wake County Speedway as the only Dunn Benson Ford Super Late Model winner in 2011. He looked to keep it that way despite hard charges from Charlie Stephenson and Joe Heigl.

Fleming would take his first pole of 2011, edging out Stephenson by a mere hundredth of a second and Heigl by three hundredths of a second.  Early on it was clear Fleming would not be able to cruise to victory as he done in previous races, with Stephenson trailing in his tire tracks the majority of the race. 

Mid-way through the 50 lap event, it appeared as though Fleming would pull away from Stephenson, but slower traffic allowed the former track champion to put his machine to the bumper of Fleming’s machine. Stephenson would make one final drive for the lead, but Fleming was too strong late, winning his fourth consecutive race at the .23 mile bullring. Stephenson would settle for second, with Joe Heigl, Kevin Floars and Kevin Jefferys rounding out the top five.

With his win, Alex Fleming adds to his point lead, staying perfect on the season.  Charlie Stephenson and Joe Heigl flip-flop positions, with Stephenson now second and Heigl third.

Modified Four Cylinder driver Justin Jones has not only won every race in 2011, but he has done so convincingly, with the only challenge coming from WCS newcomer Ryan Robinson.  Friday night, however, Robinson would fade early, leaving Jones unchallenged for the lead.  Robinson would charge back, getting as close as third.  An incident between himself and second place Todd Langdon would set up on a green-white-checkered sprint to the finish.  Justin Jones would again flex his muscle, leading wire to wire to win the 30 lap event.  Todd Langdon would fend off Ryan Robinson for second, with Robinson finishing third.

Justin Jones stays perfect on the season and continues to lead in Modified Four Cylinder points. Dennis Capps finishes last Friday night, dropping him to third in points, while Todd Langdon leapfrogs him to second place.

Will Roland has been the class of the field in Haper’s Graphix Limited Late Models, and showed no signs of letting up Friday night.  Despite beating and banging that led to six cautions, Roland was able to keep his Chevy scuff-free, leading wire to wire to take his third win of 2011.  Robert Arch overcomes an early spin to finish a career-best second, holding off Josh Van Winkle for third.

In Citgo Mini-Mart Four Cylinder action, Jesse Duke cruised to victory, beating out Jeremy Ottaway and Lee Hicks, while in Dirt Cheap Sand Rock & Mulch UCARs, Darrel Haynie won his first race of 2011, beating out Bill Pearce and point leader Kristin Gault.  Billy Gomez Jr. led 24 of 25 laps in a caution-plagued Legends event, holding off Dillon Spain and John Sofield to continue his win streak.

Racing returns to Raleigh’s bullring this Friday night with a full night of racing at Wake County Speedway with the Colton Ayscue Memorial Race.  In action will be the Dunn Benson Ford Super Late Models, Harper’s Graphix Limited Late Models, Modified Four Cylinders, Citgo Mini-Mart Four Cylinders, Dirt Cheap Sand Rock & Mulch UCARs and Noles Cabinets Mini Cups.  Tickets are just $10 for adults, $5 for kids 6-11 and free for all children 5 and under.  Go to www.wakecountyspeedway.com for more information and details.

Share Button