David Clark Continues Winning Ways at WCS

June 18, 2010

David Clark came into Friday night’s 50 lap Dunn Benson Ford Super Late Model event perfect on the season at Wake County Speedway, and at the end of the night he kept his streak alive. Clark sat on the pole, with Joe Heigl starting on his outside. Track record holder Randy Renfrow would have to start further back, but throughout the evening made gains on Heigl and Clark. Heigl would eventually give way to Renfrow, and it appeared as though Renfrow was making ground on Clark, slowly closing the gap from first to second. Renfrow would run out of time, though, and David Clark managed to stay perfect on the season. Renfrow would finish second, with Heigl third, Charlie Stephenson fourth and Curtis Simpkins fifth.

While one streak was kept alive, another came to a halt, with Frankie Dominick Jr. finishing somewhere other than first for the first time in 2010. Will Roland sat on the pole for the night’s 30 lap Harper’s Grafix Limited Late Model event, but had 2010 points leader Dominick Jr. on his outside. Throughout the race, Roland appeared to be better off the corners, and kept his car pinned to the bottom. Despite repeated efforts by Dominick Jr. to get by Roland, Roland would take his first win of 2010, with Dominick Jr. having to settle for second place. Adam Resnick overcame heat-race troubles to finish third, with Andrew Grady and Scott Liles rounding out the top five.

Justin Jones led every lap from the green flag onward in NC Iron Works Pro Modifieds. Alex Fleming began making strides late to close the gap between himself and Jones, but without a caution to close the gap it was Jones’ race to win. Fleming would have to settle for second, with Dennis Capps third, Mark Hovis fourth and Bryan Bracher fifth.

Jeremy Ottaway sat on the pole in Citgo Mini-Mart Stock 4 Cylinders and led early. Jesse Duke wouldn’t be denied of a win, however, making a pass on lap 3 for the lead and not looking back. Ottaway kept pace, but faded late, giving Duke his sixth win of 2010 in seven tries. Ottaway would finish a season-best second place, with Wilburn Duke finishing third.

Kirstin Gault held off a late charge from Matt Grimes in Dirt Cheap Sand Rock & Mulch UCARs, with Robert Arch finishing third. In Future Stars Mini Cup action, Lawson Flood beat Blake Raynor and Holden Haddock after a late pass by Raynor moved him into second place.
Racing action returns to the bullring at Wake County Speedway this Friday night featuring 50 laps from the Walls Roofing UCAR Clash for the Cash. Also in action will be Harpers Grafix Limited Late Models, NC Iron Works Pro Modifieds and Citgo Mini-Mart Stock 4 Cylinders. Tickets for

Friday night’s event at Wake County Speedway race nights are $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, military personnel and teens 12-19. Kids from 6-11 are just $5, with kids 5 and under free.

Share Button