David Clark Continues WCS Dominace in Super Late Models

May 21, 2010

David Clark took the pole in Dunn Benson Ford Super Late Models, but at the onset of the night’s racing, it appeared to be anyone’s race. Behind Clark, veterans Charlie Stephenson, Joe Heigl, Alex Fleming, Curtis Simpkins, Kevin Floars and Jim Kelley all qualified within .25 seconds of the pole time. Setup and tire conservation would be paramount.

When the green flag flew, Clark’s setup proved to be the best, as he pulled away time after time from Stephenson. Heigl would be forced to end his night early due to mechanical troubles, and Fleming saw his night end early on a lap 19 after contact with Jeffrey Brooks led to Fleming hitting
the wall, destroying the front end of his machine.

The lap 19 caution would be the last chance for Stephenson to contend for the lead. The caution flag wouldn’t fly again, and Clark checked out on the field, leading every lap and winning the night’s feature event. Stephenson would settle for second place, with Kevin Floars, Jim Kelley and Curtis Simpkins rounding out the top five.

Frankie Dominick Jr. continued year-long winning streak, once again getting the best of Cory Walker. The 30 lap event never saw a caution flag, and Dominick Jr. appeared to be in control all night, finishing with a five second lead over second place Walker. Will Roland slipped by Andrew Grady late to finish third with Grady and Scott Liles finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

Justin Jones has dominated the NC Iron Works Pro Modified division this season at Wake County Speedway, and Saturday night he had an old face looking to break his winning streak in Randy Pierce. Pierce returned to WCS after a year layoff looking to unseat Jones and appeared to be on his way by sitting on the pole. Jones would take the lead on lap 3 and not look back, while Pierce would suffer mechanical problems ending his night early. When all was said and done, it was Justin Jones continuing his winning streak, fending off Trevor Noles and Dennis Capps to take the checkered flag. Noles and Capps finished second and third, equaling their best finishes of the season.

In Citgo Mini-Mart Four Cylinders, Todd Langdon fought off point-leader Jesse Duke for the full 25 lap event, winning by less than three car lengths. Wilbur Duke finished third. Matt Grimes continued his year-long dominance of the Dirt Cheap Sand Rock & Mulch UCAR division, besting Robert Arch and Kyle Bell.

Racing returns to the Wake County Speedway bull ring on June 4 for Cottman Transmission night at the races. In action will be the Dunn Benson Ford Super Late Models, Limited Late Models, NC Iron Works Pro Modifieds, Citgo Mini Mart 4 Cylinders and Dirt Cheap Sand Rock & Mulch UCARs, s well as Mini Cup racing and the always popular Children’s Bike Races. Tickets for all regular racing at Wake County Speedway race nights is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, military personnel and teens 12-19. Kids from 6-11 are just $5, with kids 5 and under free. For more information go to http://www.wakecountyspeedway.com.

Dunn Benson Ford Super Late Models (50 laps)
1) 34 – David Clark
2) 85 – Charlie Stephenson
3) 55 – Kevin Floars
4) K7 – Jim Kelley
5) 79 – Chris Bowers
6) 18 – Keith Oliver
7) 15 – Joe Heigl
8 ) 05 – Alex Fleming
9) 77 – Jeffrey Brooks
10) 3 – Curtis Simpkins

Limited Late Models (30 laps)

1) 3 – Frankie Dominick Jr.
2) 51 – Cory Walker
3) 44 – Will Roland
4) 1 – Andrew Grady
5) 56 – Scott Liles
6) 00 – Steve Frank

NC Iron Works Pro Modified (30 laps)

1) 7 – Justin Jones
2) 60 – Trevor Noles
3) 63 – Dennis Capps
4) 8 – Alex Fleming
5) 97 – Bryan Bracher
6) 50 – Mark Hovis
7) 88 – Randy Ayers
8 ) 18 – Randy Pierce

Citgo Mini Mart 4 Cylinders (25 laps)

1) 33 – Jesse Duke
2) 9 – Todd Langdon
3) 47 – Wilbur Duke
4) 21 – Jeremy Ottaway
5) T3 – Tommy Turner

Dirt Cheap Sand Rock & Mulch UCARs (25 laps)

1) 5 – Matt Grimes
2) 4 – Robert Arch
3) 99 – Kyle Bell
4) 10 – Jim Bounds
5) 8 – Kristin Gault
6) 54 – Drew Starling
7) 1 – Kenneth Parton
8 ) 24 – Josh Taylor
9) 22r- Scott Liles
10) 84 – Cody Pierce
11) 22o- Colin Vernal

Share Button